Tutorial ~ Homemade granola.

Hi all,

As some of you may or may not know, aside from crafting I also proactively try and live a healthy life style through exercise and eating correctly.  I’ve always been very health conscious and make sure I eat well. I’m not really one for junk food and prefer fruit to a bag of crisps or sweets.

Lately I’m endeavoring to complete a 12 week intense circuit program at the gym and find that, even more than before, it’s not worth wasting all that hard work eating rubbish!

Breakfast is the key meal of the day as it boosts your metabolism which in turn boosts your energy, and without energy you feel tired and lethargic right?! So lately I admit I’ve been slacking. I don’t like most cereals (maybe a result of it being my main diet at uni?) and often replace it for eggs. However this can get time consuming and repetitive! So I decided to look into making my own granola as I’d heard it was quick and easy to make – which is perfect for me because I hate cooking!

So here are the ingredients and method to my homemade granola.

Ingredients

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

  • Oats – I used porridge but you should probably use rolled
  • Honey
  • Cinnamon
  • Fine salt
  • Vanilla
  • (Splash of olive oil)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 175c

1/ Pour four cups of oats into a large bowl:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

2/ Add in 1 teaspoon of salt (ignore that it’s a tblspoon in the picture):

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

3/ Add a pinch of cinnamon:Processed with VSCOcam

4/ You can add a splash of olive oil here, followed by a few drops of vanilla:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

5/ Add in 1/2 cup of honey… add more if you need to just make sure that all your oats are covered:

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

6/ Mix it all up and flatten into a baking sheet:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

7/ Put in the oven for 20 minutes – after 20 minutes take it out and stir it. Put back in the oven for 5 more minutes

8/ Leave to cool:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

9/ Decant into an airtight jar/container and enjoy for breakfast with yoghurt and fruit!

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I found this really easy to do and I love that I know everything that’s gone into it. You can add dried fruit like raisins or currents and it’ll be lovely!

Take care,

Elisa Signature

Leave a Reply

