Tutorial ~ Fruity Smoothies and Milkshakes

Don’t you love the fruit variety available in the summer? If you’re anything like me and try to eat seasonal then you’ll understand why I find the summer months so fruitlicious (yes I did just use a made up word).

On occasions I have an abundance of fruit in the fridge, some picked, some store bought. Either way I’ve had times when I’ve not managed to eat it or freeze it before it has started to turn. The simple solution – fruit smoothies and milkshakes.

My two ideas were really simple to make, great for making with the kids (that I borrow from my sister-in-law on occasions).

1) Berry Blitz

berry 1

To recreate your own you will need

Summer berries – I used strawberries and raspberries
Sparkling Mineral Water
Ice – both for cooling and decoration
Blender of some kind – I used a handblender

These are so easy I won’t bother with step by step instructions.
Just pop your fruit in the blender and whizz until smooth. if you don’t like the pips heres your chance to sieve the fruity gloop and pour it back into the blender. Pop some ice cubes in and give it a little whizz to crumble them. Finally add a drop of sparkling spring water and give it a little whizz to mix it all together. And serve with a straw and cute ice cubes.

2) Blueberry Milkshake

A few weeks ago I had some blueberry yogurt close to it’s use by date, rather than try to use it up I decided to turn it into frozen yogurt after searching and finding this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie. To sweeten it I simply added some honey, this worked really well.

milkshake

 

To recreate your own you will need

Frozen Yogurt – I used the blueberry yogurt mentioned above but plain would work just as well
Blueberries – a good handful
Semi-skimmed Milk – I used about half a cup

Pop your fruit in the blender, whizz until smooth. Add a few scoops of your frozen yogurt (more if you want to treat yourself) and then add the milk. Give it a whizz with the blender just to mix it together and serve. So simple.

Do you have any fruity recipes you enjoy? Leave a link to your suggestions in the comments below.

Enjoy!

Victoria Signature

Leave a Reply

